Skip to Main Content

Legal Writing Basics

Legal Writing Library Resources

Legal Writing

Advanced Legal Writing and Oral Advocacy: Trials, Appeals, and Moot Court by Michael D. Murray; Christy H. DeSanctis
Call Number: KF250.M867 2014

ISBN: 1609302478

Publication Date: 2014

Contains samples of appellant and respondent briefs

The following publications are some of the best in the legal writing area.

Advanced Legal Writing: Theories and Strategies in Persuasive Writing by Michael R. Smith
Call Number: KF250.S62 2013

ISBN: 1454811161

Publication Date: 2013
Aspen Handbook for Legal Writers by Deborah E. Bouchoux
Call Number: KF250.B68 2013

ISBN: 1454825200

Publication Date: 2013

Contains samples of the following: demand letters, legal memorandums, and Amici Curiae briefs
The Basics of Legal Writing by Mary Barnard Ray
Call Number: KF250.R375 2008

ISBN: 0314191461

Publication Date: 2008

Good. Contains sample legal research memos and samples of attorney-client correspondence.
Beyond the Basics: a Text for Advanced Legal Writing by Mary Barnard Ray; Barbara J. Cox
Call Number: KF250.R38 2003

ISBN: 0314242635

Publication Date: 2003
Clear and Effective Legal Writing by Veda R. Charrow; Myra K. Erhardt; Robert Charrow
Call Number: KF250.C45 2001

ISBN: 0735519714

Publication Date: 2001

Good. Contains sample memorandums, a petition for a writ of certiorari, and an amicus curiae brief
Culture to Culture: a Guide to U.S. Legal Writing by Jill A. Ramsfield
Call Number: KF250.R354

ISBN: 0890891184

Publication Date: 2005
Effective Appellate Advocacy by Frederick Bernays Wiener; Christopher T. Lutz; William Pannill
Call Number: KF9050.W53 2004

ISBN: 1590312341

Publication Date: 2004
Effective Appellate Advocacy by Carole C. Berry
Call Number: KF251.B43 1999

ISBN: 0314241698

Publication Date: 1999-01-01

Contains briefs for petitioner and respondent; a reply brief for petitioner; oral arguments.
Effective Legal Writing, for Law Students and Lawyers by Gertrude Block
Call Number: KF250.B56 1986

ISBN: 088277283X

Publication Date: 1986
The Elements of Legal Style by Bryan A. Garner
Call Number: KF250 .G37 2002

ISBN: 0195141628

Publication Date: 2002
The Florida Bar's FasTrain Legal Writing Manual by Florida Bar, Continuing Legal Education Staff
Call Number: KFF75.F56 2004

ISBN: 0820586587

Publication Date: 2004
Foundations of Legal Research and Writing by Carol M. Bast; Margie Hawkins
Call Number: KF240.B27 2002

ISBN: 0766831647

Publication Date: 2002
Great (or Really Effective) Legal Writing for Litigators and Appellate Attorneys
Call Number: KF325.194.A8E42 1997
Guide to Legal Writing Style by Terri LeClercq; Karin Mika
Call Number: KF250.L3913

ISBN: 073559998X

Publication Date: 2011
How to Write the Winning Brief by Fredric G. Gale; Joseph Michael Moxley
Call Number: KF325.1425.G34 1992

ISBN: 0897078284

Publication Date: 1992
Jagged Rocks of Wisdom--the Memo: Mastering the Legal Memorandum by Morten Lund; Thane J. Messinger (Foreword by)
Call Number: KF250.L86 2009

ISBN: 1888960086

Publication Date: 2009
Journal of the Association of Legal Writing Directors
ISBN: 216298031

In print at Law Library Periodicals, 3rd Floor. Available online at the several locations listed in the catalog record.
Judicial Opinion Writing Manual by Appellate Judges Conference (U.S.) Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF325.1066.J82 1991

ISBN: 0897076907

Publication Date: 2013

Online in pdf format from the Federal Judicial Center. Earlier edition in Law Library Microfiche collection.
Just Memos by Laurel Currie Oates; Anne Enquist
Call Number: KF250.O178 2003

ISBN: 0735537070

Publication Date: 2003

Contains sample memos and client letters.
Just Writing, Grammar, Punctuation, and Style for the Legal Writer by Anne Enquist
Call Number: KF250.E57 2013

ISBN: 1454826983

Publication Date: 2013
Lawyer's Book of Rules for Effective Legal Writing by Thomas R. Haggard
Call Number: KF250.H34 1997

ISBN: 0837706866

Publication Date: 1997
The Lawyer's Guide to Writing Well by Jethro K. Lieberman; Tom Goldstein
Call Number: KF250 .G65 1991

ISBN: 9780520288430

Publication Date: 2016

From JStor database. Earlier print edition in Law Library stacks.
Legal Analysis and Writing for Paralegals by William H. Putman
ISBN: 0585439737

Publication Date: 1998

Online resource.
Legal Drafting in a Nutshell by George Kuney; Donna Looper
Call Number: KF250 .H343

ISBN: 9781684675289

Publication Date: 2020

From West Academic Study Aids, access restricted to FIU College of Law. Physical copy in reserve.
Legal Method and Writing by Calleros
Call Number: KF250.C345 2011

ISBN: 0735585121

Publication Date: 2011

Contains sample briefs, collection and settlement letters.
Legal Opinion Letters by M. John Sterba
ISBN: 9780735530812
Legal Reasoning and Legal Writing by Richard K. Neumann
ISBN: 9780735576667

Publication Date: 2009

Contains the following: case brief; sample office memo; sample client advice letter; sample demand letter; sample appellant's and appellee's brief
Legal Reasoning, Writing, and Other Lawyering Skills by Wellford Slocum
Call Number: KF250.S568 2011

ISBN: 1422481565

Publication Date: 2011

Contains three sample memos, a sample client letter, an appellant brief, a sample settlement letter, and a sample demand letter.
Legal Research and Writing by Ted Tjaden
Call Number: KE250.T53 2004

ISBN: 1552210987

Publication Date: 2004
Legal Research and Writing: Some Starting Points by William P. Statsky; Hannan (Editor)
Call Number: KF240.S783 1993

ISBN: 0314012079

Publication Date: 1993
Legal Writing by Richard K. Neumann; Sheila J. Simon
Call Number: KF250.N484 2011

ISBN: 0735599947

Publication Date: 2011

Contains sample office memorandums, a sample client advise letter, sample motion memorandums, and sample appellant and appellee briefs.
Legal Writing Advice: questions and answers by Gertrude Block
Call Number: K94.B56 2004

ISBN: 0837730341

Publication Date: 2004
Legal Writing and Analysis by Linda H. Edwards
Call Number: KF250.E378 2011

ISBN: 9781454857983

Publication Date: 2015-01-14

Contains sample office memos, sample appellant and appellee briefs, sample retainer and advice letters, and a demand letter.
Legal Writing and Other Lawyering Skills by Nancy L. Schultz; Louis J. Sirico
Call Number: KF250.S38 2004

ISBN: 9780820561356

Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Legal Writing and Research Manual by John A. Yogis; Innis Christie; Michael J. Iosipescu; Michael E. Deturbide
Call Number: KE250.Y64 2000

ISBN: 0433409029

Publication Date: 2000
Legal Writing: Examples and Explanations by Pollman
Call Number: KF250.L398

ISBN: 1454833963

From Wolters Kluwer Study Aids. Older print edition in reserve.
Legal Writing: Getting it Right and Getting it Written by Mary Barnard Ray; Jill J. Ramsfield
Call Number: KF250.R39 2000

ISBN: 0314238077

Publication Date: 2000
The Legal Writing Handbook: Analysis, Research, and Writing by Laurel Currie Oates; Anne Enquist
Call Number: KF250.O18 2006

ISBN: 0735555680

Publication Date: 2006
Legal Writing and Analysis in a Nutshell by Lynn Bahrych; Jeanne Merino; Beth McLellan
Call Number: KF250.S68 2003

ISBN: 9781634602815

Publication Date: 2017-02-17
Legal Writing: Process, Analysis, and Organization by Edwards
Call Number: KF250.E38 2010

ISBN: 0735585148

Publication Date: 2010

Contains sample office memorandums, retainer letters, advise letters, demand letters, appellant and appellee briefs.
Letters for Litigators: Essential Communications for Oppossing Counsel, Witnesses, Clients, and Others by Daniel I. Small; Robin Page West
Call Number: KF320.L48S53 2004

ISBN: 1590312686

Publication Date: 2004

Contains numerous sample letters including demand letters, client letters, and settlement letters.
Little Book on Legal Writing by Alan L. Dworsky
Call Number: KF250 .D88 1992

ISBN: 0837705606

Publication Date: 1992

Very good. Contains the nuts and bolts on effective writing techniques. Brief and succint.
Modern Legal Drafting by Peter Butt; Richard William Castle
Call Number: K94.B88 2001

ISBN: 0521001862

Publication Date: 2001
The Moot Court Book: a Student Guide to Appellate Advocacy by Gaubatz
Call Number: KF281.A2G38 1994

ISBN: 1558341951

Publication Date: 1994

Good. Contains a record on appeal, an appellant brief and an appellee brief.
Perspectives: Teaching Legal Research and Writing
Available electronically (external link, Thomson Reuters Legal Solutions).
Persuasive writing for lawyers and the legal profession by Sirico, Louis J., Jr., Schultz, Nancy L.
Call Number: KF250 .S54 2001

ISBN: 9780820553269
Plain English for Lawyers by Richard C. Wydick; Amy E. Sloan
Call Number: KF250 .W9

ISBN: 9781531006990

Publication Date: 2019
Pleasing the Court by Judith D. Fischer
Call Number: KF250.F53

ISBN: 9781594600456

Publication Date: 2005
A Practical Guide to Legal Writing and Legal Method by John C. Dernbach; Richard V. Singleton II; Joan M. Ruhtenberg; Catherine J. Wasson; Cathleen S. Wharton
Call Number: KF250.P72 2007

ISBN: 9781454826996

Publication Date: 2013-06-11

Very good. The appendices contain the following: a sample office memorandum, a sample trial court opinion, and sample appellant and appellee briefs.
The Redbook by Bryan Garner
Call Number: KF250.G375 2013

ISBN: 9781642421002

Publication Date: 2018-06-27

Contains examples of the following: business correspondence: case briefs; memorandums; opinion letters; demand letters; respondent briefs; judicial opinions; and a sample contract.
Scribes Journal of Legal Writing
ISBN: 10495177

Available electronically in Hein and Lexis Uni. The library has the print volumes from v.5 (1994) to V.10 (2006).
Synthesis: Legal Reading, Reasoning, and Writing by Deborah A. Schmedemann; Christina L. Kunz
Call Number: KF250.S36

ISBN: 0735527776

Publication Date: 2007
Teaching Legal Writing by Joseph Michael Moxley; Fredric G. Gale; American Bar Association, Section of General Practice Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF325.1425.M69 1993

ISBN: 0897078217

Publication Date: 1993
Thinking Like A Writer: : A Lawyer's Guide to Effective Writing and Editing by Stephen V. Armstrong; Timothy P. Terrell
Call Number: KF250.A76 2009

ISBN: 1402411286

Publication Date: 2008
The Winning Brief: 100 Tips for Persuasive Briefing in Trial and Appellate Courts by Bryan A. Garner
Call Number: KF251.G37

ISBN: 9780199378357

Publication Date: 2014-05-01

Excellent resource. The appendices in the back contain examples of motions and briefs.
Winning on Appeal by Hon. Ruggero J. Aldisert
Call Number: KF9050.A935 2003

ISBN: 1556818246

Publication Date: 2003
Working with Words in Business and Legal Writing by Lynne Agress
Call Number: HF5718.3.A37 2002

ISBN: 0738205621

Publication Date: 2002
Writing and Analysis in the Law, 6th by Helene S. Shapo; Marilyn Walter
Call Number: KF250.S5 2013

ISBN: 1609302729

Publication Date: 2013

Very good. Frequently used publication. Appendices contain two sample office memorandums and a sample appellate brief.
Writing for Law Practice by Elizabeth Fajans; Mary Falk; Helene Shapo
Call Number: KF250.F353 2010

ISBN: 9781609304447

Publication Date: 2015-02-03
Writing for Litigation by Kamela Bridges; Wayne Schiess
Call Number: KF250.B75 2011

ISBN: 1454802731

Publication Date: 2011

Contains samples of the following: engagement letter; demand letter; complaint; answer, sample client letter.

Last Updated: Jun 16, 2025 11:21 AM
URL: https://library.law.fiu.edu/legalwritingbasics
Print Page

Tags: student resource