The ICTR was established by the UN Security Council, Resolution 955 in November 1994 for the prosecution of persons responsible for genocide, and other serious violations of international humanitarian law, committed in the territory of Rwanda from January to December of 1994. It may also deal with the prosecution of Rwandan citizens responsible for genocide and other such violations of international law committed in the territory of neighboring States during the same period.
To search ICTR Cases in Westlaw – go to International Materials – Other International Jurisdictions – Rwanda; or Type INT-ICTR in the search box. Coverage is from 1995 through July, 2007.
ICC Legal Tools Database, includes trial judgments, appeals decisions, directions and orders.
International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (UNICTR), on the UN portal of the Tribunal you will find the statute of the Tribunal, rules of procedure and evidence, basic documents and case law (1995 – 2006), rules covering the detention of persons, status of cases, and news.
International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR), on the website of the Tribunal you will find basic documents and case law covering the period 1995 – 2013; contains indictments, decisions and orders, judgments, as well as UN documents on the ICTR. The database is fully searchable and provides access to compiled documents.
ICTR/ICTY Case Law Database, contains extracts of judgments and decisions rendered by the Appeals Chamber of the ICTY since 1997 and by the Appeals Chamber of the ICTR since 2004. Through MICT you will be able to link to the ICTR and the ICTY.
International Residual Mechanism for International Criminal Tribunals (MICT), was established by the United Nations Security Council on 22 December 2010 to perform a number of essential functions currently carried out by the ICTR and the ICTY, among which are tracking and prosecution of remaining fugitives still wanted for trial, appeals proceedings, retrials, protection of victims and witnesses, supervision and enforcement of sentences, assistance to national jurisdictions, and preservation and management of MICT, ICTR and ICTY archives
Topics / Human Rights and International Criminal Law – can be searched by keywords to find commentaries on issues in this area of law.
ASIL Insights, under Resources / E-Resources; provides brief accounts of international law issues raised by newsworthy breaking events. ASIL Insights are published twice a month often written as international law events arise.
Electronic Resource Guide, online research guides on different areas on international law. See, the electronic resource guide for International Criminal Law guide, by Gail Partin, covering other research guides, books, and information networks, treaties, conventions, courts, and tribunals, crime prevention, prosecution and criminal justice resources as well as resources available on specific crimes such as human rights and war crimes, terrorism.
The International Crimes Database (ICD) website, is hosted and maintained by the T.M.C. Asser Instituut in The Hague and supported by the Dutch Ministry of Security and Justice and the International Centre for Counter-Terrorism – The Hague. ICD is a comprehensive database on international crimes adjudicated by national, as well as international and internationalized courts. Browse by type of crimes, cases by name or by category, commentaries on controversial issues, analysis of international courts their history and impact, and additional research guides, international law blogs, and news websites.
The U.N. research guides allow you to search by Theme / International Law / Case Law, and also Courts and Tribunals