In May 1993, the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY) was established by the United Nations Security Council in response to the war crimes that took place during the conflicts in the Balkans (Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Kosovo and the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia) from 1991 to 2001.
ICTR Cases in Westlaw – Under International Materials – Other International Jurisdictions – Yugoslavia; or Type INT-ICTY in the search box. Coverage includes administrative decisions (judgments, decisions, orders, indictments, and transcripts released by the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia, from 1995 through September 2008), basic legal documents, and press releases.
ICC Legal Tools Database, trial judgments, appeals decisions, directions and orders.
UN ICTY, the United Nations (UN) portal for the ICTY includes a descriptive narrative of the history, mandate and operation of the court, the statute and rules of procedure and evidence of the Tribunal, the rules governing defense at the Tribunal, policies defining practical aspects of judicial proceedings, summaries of significant decisions, orders and judgments issues between February 1999 and August 2004, and links to the ICTR/ICTY Case Law Database.
ICTR/ICTY Case Law Database, the website of MICT includes not only the basic documents of both tribunals but the ICTR/ICTY Case Law Database contains extracts of judgments and decisions rendered by the Appeals Chamber of the ICTY since 1997 and by the Appeals Chamber of the ICTR since 2004. Through MICT you will be able to link to the ICTR and the ICTY portals.
International Mechanism for International Criminal Tribunals (MICT), was established by the United Nations Security Council on 22 December 2010 to perform a number of essential functions currently carried out by the ICTR and the ICTY, among which are tracking and prosecution of remaining fugitives still wanted for trial, appeals proceedings, retrials, protection of victims and witnesses, supervision and enforcement of sentences, assistance to national jurisdictions, and preservation and management of MICT, ICTR and ICTY archives.