Assistant Director of Collection Services Law Librarian
Books
The general policy of the library is to shelve books according to the Library of Congress classification call number order. The Indian Law books are shelved according to the Library of Congress classification.
India can be found under the following sub classes and call numbers
Indian Religion are between BL 2001 to BL 2080 in the main library
Budhism BQ in the main library
Asian History and Politics between DS 405 to DS 486 in the main library
Surrogacy in India HQ 759 in the main library
India KNS in the main and law libraries.
-
The Indian Penal Code
by
ISBN: 9788180386336Publishers description: "This is a holy book for the students of law in India, which provides the most trusted and original interpretation of each law along with proper case studies to give a clear understanding of each situation". -
Company Law (A Comprehensive Text Book on Companies Act, 2013)
by
ISBN: 9789350717226Publisher's description: "An authentic, comprehensive, up-to-date, simple and lucid analysis of the provisions of the Companies Act, 2013/Rules made under the Companies Act, 2013 /SEBI Regulations/Related Corporate Laws". -
Law Relating to Intellectual Property Rights
by
ISBN: 9788180389894Publishers description: "The book contains an analytical study of the laws on intellectual property rights, such as Copyright Act 1957; Designs Act 2000; Patents Act, 1970; Trade Marks Act, 1999; Geographical Indications of Goods (Registration and Protection) Act, 1999; Protection of Plant Varieties and Farmers' Rights Act, 2001; Semiconductor Integrated Circuits Layout-Design Act, 2000; and law of confidential information including trade secrets". -
Property Law
by
ISBN: 978-8180386886Publisher's description: "Property Law is a comprehensive book on laws for Law students, which covers the topics related to properties and their transfers, inheritance and responsibilities of the parties involved". -
The Code of Criminal Procedure
by
ISBN: 9789351436812Publisher's description: "the Code of Criminal Procedure allows readers to quickly grasp the principles of Criminal Procedure and Criminology. This latest edition covers the latest essential case law, legislative amendments and current developments in the law relating to criminal procedure in India". -
The Law of Torts
by
ISBN: 978-8180389856Publisher's description: "Extensively covers the latest developments in the Law of Torts through exhaustive notes and notable decisions of the Supreme Court and the High Courts. Tortious liabilities such as Negligence, Defamation, Trespass, Nuisance etc. have been thoroughly explained". -
The Law of Evidence
ISBN: 9789351436768Publisher's description: " This edition incorporates the changes made by the Criminal Law (Amendment) Act, 2013 and critically analyses the latest case law". -
Competition Law in India 3e
by
ISBN: 9789041152961Publication Date: 2014-03-19Publisher's description: "this practical analysis of competition law and its interpretation in India covers every aspect of the subject - the various forms of restrictive agreements and abuse of dominance prohibited by law and the rules on merger control; tests of illegality; filing obligations; administrative investigation and enforcement procedures; civil remedies and criminal penalties; and raising challenges to administrative decisions". -
Family Law
by
ISBN: 9780198067900Publication Date: 2011-03-11Abstract: "This book is a detailed study on family law in India. It attempts to combine women’s rights into legal theory, and uses case laws extensively". "The book presents a comparison of the personal laws of the majority and minority communities, as well as a study of the Uniform Civil Code". -
Principles of Insurance Law
by
ISBN: 9788180385278Publisher's description: "Containing Case Law references of the Supreme Court of India, various High Courts, English and American Courts with a detailed study on Basics of Insurance, State Control of Insurance Business, Law Relating to Insurance Contracts, Formation, Performance and Discharge of Contract, Proposal and Policy, Terms, Conditions and Exceptions of Policy, Utmost Good Faith, Insurable Interest, Indemnity, Subrogation and Contribution, " etc., -
Economic Reforms in India and China
by
ISBN: 9788178298382Publication Date: 2009-06-03Publisher's description: "summarizes current trends in the economic scenario of India and China in the backdrop of globalization and outlines not only the goals and strategies for development but also the policies to achieve those goals". -
The Indian Contract Act-1872
by
ISBN: 9789351431046Publisher's description: "All notable decisions of the Supreme Court and various High Courts, and the changes made by the various Amending Acts including the Banking Laws (Amendment) Act, 2012 (Act No 4 of 2013) have been incorporated at appropriate places in the book". -
Law Relating to Arbitration and Conciliation
by
ISBN: 9788180388132Publisher's description: "The book is a section-wise commentary on the Arbitration & Conciliation Act, 1996. It also contains appendices providing the text of various important Acts like the Arbitration Act, 1940, Interest Act, 1978, (English) Arbitration Act,1996,UNCITRAL Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration, UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules, ICC Arbitration Rules and the Rules of Various High Courts as framed under the Act of 1996". -
The Juvenile Justice System in India
by
ISBN: 9780198065777Publication Date: 2011-05-17Publisher's description: "Revised, with additional material, this pioneering work updates readers about the latest developments in juvenile justice system in India". " -
Challenges to Civil Rights Guarantees in India
by
ISBN: 9780198074144Publication Date: 2013-03-18Publisher's description: "the status of civil rights guarantees as enshrined in the Constitution of India. Discussing the contemporary social and political issues, and their handling by the state, it foregrounds different challenges faced by the civil rights framework in India". -
Politics of Post-Civil Society
by
ISBN: 9788132110415Publication Date: 2013-02-08Publisher's description: "is an attempt to map the discourse and politics of contemporary political movements in India that have been negotiating with the hegemonic effects born out of the insidious co-habitation of political principles and practices in the domain referred to as the civil society". -
Natural Resources Law- Concepts and Approaches (Pre-Publication)
by
ISBN: 9789351453888Publisher's description: "This book addresses the critical objective of sustainable management of resources in context of legal, socio-cultural, economic, political and various other approaches. It explores how management of conflict and link between self help initiatives and natural resource conservation can be primary approaches for sustainable development". -
Indigeneity and Legal Pluralism in India
by
ISBN: 9781107081185Publication Date: 2015-07-20Publisher's description: "As calls for reparations to indigenous peoples grow on every continent, issues around resource extraction and dispossession raise complex legal questions. What do these disputes mean to those affected? How do the narratives of indigenous people, legal professionals, and the media intersect?". Online from Cambridge Core database, access restricted to FIU Community. Print edition at Law Library.
Indian Law Journals
The periodicals in the FIU College of Law Library are shelved in alphabetical order by the title on the third floor of the library. The following two titles can be found in the 'Ind' section.
-
Indian Journal of Arbitration Law (IJAL)FIU members only. Available via: kluwer Arbitration.
-
Indian Journal of Industrial Relationsavailable via: JSTOR
-
Indian Journal of Law and TechnologyFIU members only. Available via: HeinOnline
-
Indian Journal of Law and Technology (IJLT)FIU members only: Available via: HeinOnline
-
Indian Patents NewsFIU members only: available via: ProQuest
Also available via: LexisNexis Uni -
Journal of Indian law and societyFIU members only. Available via: HeinOnline
-
Journal of Intellectual Property Rights (JIPR)available via: Freely Accessible Journals
-
National University of Juridical Sciences (NUJS law review)FIU members only. Available via: HeinOnline
Also available via: Freely Accessible Journals -
Indian CasesFIU members only. Available via: LLMC Digital
-
SCC Online (Supreme Court Cases)It is a subscription database: only for FIU users, and it requires IP registration with @fiu.edu address. No password is required.
Articles in Indian Law Journals
-
BMJ: British Medical Journal"India’s abortion law puts women at risk"
Indian Theses
-
ShodhgangaOpen access: no need for a password, provides access to PhD theses from Indian universities.